Singapore Local Travel Guide

Hi fellow Earthlings,

About Me

A Singaporean wanting to become a local guide for foreigners looking for local experience. I am doing it for free.

Currently, I am able to guide English, Chinese and Korean speakers.

Why?

Over the past few years, I have traveled to a few countries, have had an semester exchange in POSTECH, Pohang, South Korea, and have met many international friends over the trips. With these new international friends, we talk about our cultures, our religions, our politics, our families, our stories.

I love listening to all the stories from another Earthling who spends his or her life on another part of Earth, because that will show me another world which I had not known about. My love for listening to such stories has inspired me to try this, because I would not only be a guide, but also a friend.

Also, being rather familiar with South Korea, during my 5 month stay in South Korea, I brought some friends around the country and some cities/towns, and when my friends are having fun, it brings me a lot of satisfaction.

Back in Singapore, I have successfully introduced Singapore to several friends by having a walk at a local market and having local food outside of the town area.

Brazilian friend having wanton mee and teh peng (tea with milk) at a hawker centre near my home.

Brazilian friend having wanton mee and teh peng (tea with milk) at a hawker centre near my home.

Brazilian friend at my home, and also tasting mangosteen for the first time.

Brazilian friend at my home, and also tasting mangosteen for the first time.

Showed my German friend around Marina Bay Sands for a little tour with 2 of my friends.

Showed my German friend around Marina Bay Sands for a little tour with 2 of my friends.

Brought the German friend to my place. This picture was taken at Yew Tee MRT station.

Brought the German friend to my place. This picture was taken at Yew Tee MRT station.

What do I do?

  1. Short tour around the “must go” places when visiting Singapore
  2. A trip out of the “must go” places to a Singapore neighborhood, for a walk or a meal as you requests or as I suggest
  3. Act as a great chatting companion during your travel

While I like to bring foreigners around Singapore, below are what I do not offer:

  1. Night life activities like clubbing and heavy drinking
  2. No personal transport
  3. No Accommodation

Languages

I can speak fluent English and Chinese, and enough Korean to understand half a Modern Physics lesson taught in Korean.

I have studied officially Level 1 (the most basic) Japanese and German. I am currently studying basic Russian. I can yet hold basic conversations with these languages.

Finally, I am looking forward to learning Spanish and French too.

Interested?

Travelling to Singapore and looking for a local guide for a more local experience? If you are interested, send me an email at xiurenyap@gmail.com.

In the email, let me know when you are visiting, and any interesting place you might want to visit, or a local food you want to try.

Leave a Reply

