Day 5 Part 2: Metasequoia Road and Yonghwasa

In my grand plan for the day, I had only wanted to take a walk at the Metasequoia Road nearby before heading out of Damyang to maybe another town for a walk or something, but I got lost while searching for the tree lined road. And I’m glad I did. It was then that I got to experience the most serene walk I ever got to in South Korea.

20131223-DSC_0473

Stepping out of the Bamboo forest, I headed left to search for the Metasequoia Road as depicted on the map I had on hand. The things that first came into sight was this stone steps across the river, followed by some street stalls. Without knowing that the walk would end up being such a long one, I strolled on, passing by bridges, and other buildings I have no idea what they were. School or hospital perhaps, but they were quite out of town.

20131223-DSC_0477

A sleeping fisherman.

20131223-DSC_0481

No idea what that is. A cemetry?

20131223-DSC_0483

The fisherman woke up! oh, and I love the view of those mountains and clouds in the background.

20131223-DSC_0487

Schools? Hospitals???

These were probably the last of the buildings I saw for awhile, until I reach this farm.

Dog guarding the farm's entrance.

Dog guarding the farm’s entrance.

Dog guarding the farm's entrance.

Dog guarding the farm’s entrance.

Cow and Cat.

Cows and Cat.

Right after the farm, a little flyover appeared and I crossed it to the other side of the little river, where I found myself in the middle of the Metasequoia Road. Peculiarly though, the ticketing office was there, at the middle. Initially I didn’t know we had to get a ticket, until the guy inside it pushed open the window and called out to me.

On one side,

On one side,

and on the other.

and on the other.

After snapping some photos and taking some walk around, I left the place walking toward Damyang town as depicted on the map. The tree-lined road started to die down into a small road, which stretches out quite long before I reach the Yonghwasa temple, with the only sights to be some small vegetable farms.

How farms look like during winter.

How farms look like during winter.

Little village(?) nearby Damyang.

Little village(?) nearby Damyang, with the sign that directs people to the temple.

Finally, the sign to the temple. So how does the temple look like within?

20131223-DSC_0542

Sign right outside the temple.

A very big statue/monument that seems to overlook the town and the bamboo forest.

A very big statue/monument that seems to overlook the town and the bamboo forest.

Colorful structures within the temple

Colorful structures within the temple

Colorful structures within the temple

Colorful structures within the temple

Today was a day I kept getting lost. A day where I got lost while finding the tree-lined road, and got lost again after that before finding yonghwasa (the temple), and then again later looking for a way back to the bus terminal.
An ahjumma approached me and asked if I was a student on a project. I explained that I was a student, but from Singapore and not on any project. I took the chance to ask her about how I could get to Damyang bus terminal, and when she replied to my query, she grabbed my hands and explained to me how to get to the bus terminal. Such act of warmth. Probably something I’ll not forget anytime soon.

Later on, on the way toward the bus terminal, which had started to seem quite far after a 15minutes walk, I chanced upon a bus stop that had the bus which I needed to get to Damyang terminal. So I waited there for The Bus to get me back to Gwangju and the Namdo Hostel where I was staying at.

Leave a Reply

